

AGM MINUTES

Youth Network of Tasmania (YNOT) AGM **11am – 1pm Wednesday, 13th November 2024** Online via Microsoft Teams and face to face – RACV Hotel

Meeting opened at 11:00am

1. Acknowledgement of Country

The Acting Chair acknowledged that the meeting was being held in person on the lands of the muwinia people of lutruwita Tasmania and around the state on Aboriginal lands that were never ceded.

2. Welcome and Apologies

The Acting Chair welcomed YNOT members and guests and confirmed apologies for the meeting.

Surname	First Name	Member	In person	Online (link sent)
O'Keefe	Glen	YNOT Chair Mental Health Family & Friends		x
Robinson	Catherine	YNOT Board Member UTAS	х	
Thompson	Sally	YNOT Board Member Migrant Resource Centre	x	
Lester	Dion	YNOT Ag Deputy Chair Local Government Association Tasmania	x	
Beckett-Smith	Reede	YNOT Board Member Individual	x	
Akot	Joseph	YNOT Board Member Individual		x
Atkinson	Ros	CEO, Youth, Family & Community Corrections		x
Hunt	Tania	YNOT CEO/Public Officer	х	
Horton	lo	YNOT employee	х	
Sims	Michelle	YNOT employee	х	
Meikle	Kuba	Tasmanian President, UN Youth Australia		x
Ryan	Sue	Operations Manager of Children & Youth Futures, Launceston City Mission		x
Calic	Sophie	Youth Program Manager, Workskills	x	
McCullough	Ash	Youth and Community Engagement Coordinator, Workskills	x	
Mangan	Julia	CEO, CatholicCare	х	
Shilling	Esther	Youth Development Advisor, Huon Valley Council	x	
Churches	Emily	Youth Services Program Manager, Mission Australia	x	



Kastrop	Bart	Regional Leader Tas Mission Australia	x	
Brazendale	Angela	Area Manager, Mission Australia	x	
Beeston	Andy	Project Officer, Future Impact Group, Georgetown Council		x
Harris	Scott	CEO, Beacon Foundation	х	
Fegan	Libby	headspace Centre Manager, The Link Youth Health Service	х	
Wadsley	Oscar	Individual member	х	
Maher-Johnson	Kurtis	Connected Communities Youth Officer, Circular Head Council		x
Clark	Leah	Brave Foundation	х	

Apologies:

Surname	First Name	Member
Saville	Jodie	Circular Head Council
Stoddart	Toby	YNOT Board Member Colony 47
Akot	Joseph	YNOT Board Member Individual

3. Previous AGM Minutes

It was resolved that the minutes of the AGM held on 15th November 2023 be confirmed as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

Moved: Catherine Robinson Seconded: Aisling McCullough

4. Chair report: Glen O'Keefe

Presented by outgoing Chair, Glen O'Keefe. Glen acknowledged the work of CEO, YNOT team, YNOT members and the Tasmanian Government for their ongoing support for young Tasmanians. Glen reflected on his 6-year term on the Board, including 3 years as Chair, including acknowledging substantial impact of YNOT.

Sally Thompson, Acting Chair, thanked Glen for his service on behalf of the Board and Members. Glen received a farewell gift from the current Board.

Sally Thompson also provided a report. Sally noted that housing, homelessness and employment remain pressing challenges for young people in Tasmania and a focus for YNOT work ongoing. Sally noted the strategic plan and constitutional review planned for 2025 to ensure YNOT remains responsive to evolving opportunities and pressures. Sally acknowledged the continued funding and support provided by DPAC.



Sally acknowledged the service of outgoing board members: Carmel Hobbs, Matt Hill, Jodie Saville.

Sally welcomed new board members: Toby Stoddart, Dion Lester, Reede Beckett-Smith.

It was resolved that the reports of the Chair and Acting Chair be accepted.

Moved: Dion Lester Seconded: Esther Shilling

5. CEO Report: Tania Hunt

Tania Hunt, CEO, provided her report. This included discussion of the increase in demand for youth participation and engagement activities but a decrease in the staff profile at YNOT due to project completion. Tania noted the range of highly successful projects during 2024, including co-designing a participation model with Youth Voice to focus on youth inclusion in policy development. Ongoing funding for this is a priority for YNOT. Tania noted the excellent collaboration on Youth Homelessness Matters Day campaign to urge investment in a standalone child and youth homelessness plan. Tania flagged the Youth Sector symposium being planned for 2025. Tania finished by acknowledging members and the generosity and trust of young people in TAS engaging in the work of YNOT.

It was resolved that the CEO report be received.

Moved: Dion Lester

Seconded: Leah Clark

6. Treasurers Report

Dion Lester, Treasurer, noted the strong surplus of 68K and the sound financial state of YNOT, noting the time-limited project-based income sources.

It was resolved that the Treasurer report be received.

Moved: Glen O'Keefe Seconded: Libby Fegan

7. Declaration of the Directors for 2024/2025

Sally Thompson declared three new board members accepted, Toby Stoddart, Dion Lester, Reede Beckett-Smith.

Catherine Robinson called for nominations for Chair of the Board. Only one nomination was received.

Sally Thompson: Appointed as Chair of the Board

Moved: Dion Lester Seconded: Esther Shilling



8. Appointment of Auditor – Bentleys Tas

Bentley Tasmania was recommended as the 2024-2025 external auditor for YNOT. It was resolved that Bentleys Tasmania be appointed as the auditor in 2024-2025.

Moved: Esther Shilling Seconded: Aisling McCullough

9. Close of meeting

11.40am